Springboks named IRB Team of the Year 2009

The South African rugby team have capped a magic year ( lets not mention the kak tour to Europe shall we) by being named International Rugby Board (IRB) Team of the Year 2009.

South African rugby had a great year with the Springboks ( reigning World Champions) winning the Tri Nations and the British & Irish Lions series. Lets not forget that the Blue Bulls are also Super 14 champs.

Here’s what Springbok captain John Smit had to say:

“It’s been a huge year for us and to top it off with a recognition like this, to secure the top prize is massive. It was a huge ambition of many of the guys to beat the British & Irish Lions, it was a goal to be victorious so that was a great highlight for us during the year.

I’m very proud to be associated with these guys, it has become a family of guys and hopefully we can keep it going for another two years.” [IRB]

Love your work chaps.

Richie McCaw walked away with IRB Player of the Year and Ireland’s Declan Kidney the IRB Coach of the Year.


~ by mcsavage on December 1, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: